Hancock Central School District News Article

We're ready for 2021-2022!


Hancock sign first day of school (9/2021)

Dr. Terrance Dougherty, Superintendent of Hancock Central School, has released pertinent information concerning the school and plans for the 2021-2022 school year. Personnel and the teaching staff are listed herein as well as a schedule of the bus routes.
The Board of Education of the Hancock Central School District includes Terry Whitt, President, Rebecca Smith, Vice President, Gene Homer, Todd Jacobs, Christopher “Jake” Geer, Sr. and Lothar Holbert - Wayne Highlands representative.
The administrative staff includes Terrance Dougherty, Superintendent; Julie Bergman, PK-12 Principal; Jackie Beamer, Director for Pupil Personnel Services and CSE Chairperson; and Diane Meredith, Director of Learning Recovery and Enrichment. Mrs. Bergman will serve as Interim Superintendent and Mike Williams as Interim PK-12 Principal at the start of the 2021-2022 school year while Dr. Dougherty is on medical leave. Dr. Dougherty will resume his 20th year as HCSD Superintendent in November.
The teaching staff for the 2021-2022 school year is:
Elementary School: Pre-K/Reading AIS, Mrs. Marjorie Hull; Kindergarten, Mrs. Melissa Karcher; 1st grade, Mrs. Kerrie Bass; 2nd grade, Mrs. Kristen Rice; 3rd grade, Mrs. Katherine Cooper; 4th grade, Ms. Candice Milk and Mrs. Roseann Prescott; Music, Mrs. Loa Noyd; Art, Miss Autumn Kellam; Special Education, Mrs. Patricia Robinson and Mrs. Heather Saxby; Library & AIS English, Mrs. Sandra Barnes; Physical Education and Computers, Mr. Ryan Smith; School Counselor, Mrs. Lori Rajoppi; LPN, Mrs. Cindy Alderman.
Middle School: 5th grade, Mrs. Roberta Vasconi-Smith; 6th grade, Mrs. Gloria White; 7th and 8th grade Math, Mrs. Jodi Wormuth; 7th and 8th grade English, Mrs. Denise Dirig; 7th and 8th grade Science, Mr. James Kelly; 7th and 8th grade Social Studies, Ms. Karin Nyberg; Spanish, Mrs. Danielle Gross; Instrumental Music, Mr. Michael Massaro; Vocal Music, Mrs. Loa Noyd; Physical Education, Mr. Devon Bedient & Mrs. Ann Messenger; Special Education, Mrs. Kristina Dufton, Ms. Colleen Dulay, and Mrs. Angie Hazen; Special Education Teaching Assistants, Ms. Brenda Smith and Mrs. Tish Drumm; Art, Miss Autumn Kellam; Middle School Computers, Mr. Chance Charles; Home & Careers, Mrs. Kay MacDonald; Technology, Mr. Ken Held; School Counselor, Mrs. Joan Rice.
High School: Social Studies, Ms. Kelly DaBrescia and Mr. Matt Davis; English, Mrs. Denise Dirig and Ms. Patricia Gross; Math, Mrs. Kim Makowski, Miss Ann Mangefrida, and Ms. Kristy White; Instrumental Music, Mr. Michael Massaro; Vocal Music, Mrs. Loa Noyd; Library, Mrs. Kathryn Herzog; Science, Mr. James Kelly, Mr. Jeremy Mann and Mr. Thomas O’Boyle; Business, Mrs. Kim Makowski; Special Education Teaching Assistants, Mrs. Jackie Petriella and Ms. Brenda Smith; Art, Miss Autumn Kellam; Health, Mrs. Ann Messenger; Home & Careers, Mrs. Kay MacDonald; Technology, Mr. Ken Held; Foreign Language, Mrs. Danielle Gross; Special Education, Ms. Colleen Dulay, Mrs. Kathryn Herzog, Miss Ariel Kravetsky, and Miss Ann Mangefrida; Distance Learning, Mr. Chance Charles & Ms. Judy Ellis; Physical Education, Mr. Devon Bedient & Mrs. Ann Messenger; Athletic Coordinator, Mrs. Ann Messenger; School Counselor, Mrs. Joan Rice; School Nurse and Attendance Officer, Mrs. Jennifer Hunt and Dean of Students, Ms. Judy Ellis.
The support staff for the 2021-2022 school year is:
Secretarial: Mrs. Tammi Wadeson, superintendent’s office; Mrs. Vicky Kravetsky, middle school/high school main office; Mrs. Jennifer Brock, elementary office; Ms. Audrey Price, health office; Mrs. Meghan Smith, guidance office; Mrs. Jennifer Gill, business office; Mrs. Cindy Gill, CSE office.
Library, Aides, Monitors, Technology: Mrs. Kathi Herzog, HS/MS Library; Mrs. Brenda Sherburne, Special Education Aide; Mrs. Barbara Christian, Mrs. Betsy Poborsky, Mrs. Michelle Rutledge and Mrs. Amy Wormuth, elementary monitors; Mrs. Jalene Allen, IT Coordinator with Mr. Joshua Roenfeldt, PC/LAN Technician I.
Cafeteria: Mrs. Jo-Anne Smith will be returning as School Lunch Manager, with Mrs. Stephanie Kuehn and Ms. Lisa Rieman comprising the cafeteria staff.
Transportation: Jodi Newman is Transportation Director with Kelly Czapnik as automotive mechanic and Gary Miller as mechanic’s helper. Bus drivers for 2021-2022 are as follows: Randi Appley, Brianne Cobb, Sara D’Elia, Melissa Newman, Linda O’Brien, Karen Soulier, Paul Vetrone, and Michelle Wormuth. Bus monitors: Carolyn Rhinebeck and Vicki Czapnik.
Facilities and Maintenance: Jodi Newman will serve as Director of Facilities & Maintenance with Greg Gill, Shaun Gotthardt, Jason Mead, Anthony Miller, and Shaun Shannon assisting as custodians.

Student Meals: For the 2021-2022 school year, all students, regardless of family income, are eligible to receive one free breakfast and one free lunch each day. Students can purchase additional items including a second full lunch in grades K-4 for $2.35 and in grades 5-12 for $2.60. Students can purchase a second full breakfast in grades K-12 for $1.50.
Distance Learning: Hancock High School continues to offer distance learning courses which provide our students with the opportunity to earn college credits while attending high school.
Student Planners: Students in grades 3-12 will receive a student planner to assist with organizing assignments and school-related events. Students in grades 5-12 will have hall passes printed in their planners in order to sign in and out of classrooms.
Student Handbook: All students will receive a copy of the Student Handbook on the first day of school, which includes the Hancock Central School Code of Conduct. Students are to review the handbook with their parents/guardians and return a signed Statement of Understanding to their homeroom teacher by Friday, September 17. The Statement of Understanding is located at the back of the handbook.
BOCES: Select high school students have the opportunity to pursue occupation education courses on a half-day basis through a cooperative program with other schools at DCMO BOCES Harrold Campus on Route 206 between Trout Creek and Masonville.
School Pictures: All students are reminded that you must sit for the school photographer so the school district can obtain your official picture for the 2021-2022 school year. You are not obligated to buy a photo package from the studio. School pictures will be taken on the following dates:
September 21: PreK-Grade 4
September 28: Grades 5-12
Student drop-offs/pick-ups (5-12): Parents/guardians are reminded that Grade 5-12 student drop-offs/pick-ups take place in front of the high school only.
Student drop-offs/pick-ups (PK-4): Parents/guardians are reminded that PK-4 student drop-offs/pick-ups are not allowed in front of the elementary school building, as per the fire code. Parents/guardians must park in the designated visitor lot in front of the playground or in the overflow staff/faculty lot.
School entry time: Students are not permitted to enter the building until 7:50 a.m. unless purchasing breakfast in the cafeteria. School will begin at 8:05 a.m.

Hancock Central School District bus routes for the 2021-2022 school year are as follows:
Bus #133         Fishs Eddy, Klondike
Bus #137         Readburn, Tar Hollow
Bus #132         French Woods, Route 97, LaBarre 
Bus #140         Sands Creek Road, Dry Brook Road, Bus Garage Stop
Bus #135         Silver Lake, West End, Peas Eddy Rd., Academy St.
Bus #143         Apex, Cadosia, Dug Road
Bus #131         Lordville, Stockport Road, Baudendistal Road
Bus #136         Special Education/Guilford, Sidney
Posted 9/3/2021

Print This Article
Apple App Store Google Play Store
© 2021. Hancock Central School District. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website